top of page

South Island Road Trip: SKYDIVING

So we got up at the butt crack of dawn so we could drive down to Fox Glacier and go SKYDIVING! I know, I know Dad, "Why would anyone jump out of a perfectly good airplane?!" Well it just had to be done :)

The views on the way there were again, amazing:

DSC02144.JPG

When we showed up to the skydiving place I was a little worried because it was really small and didn't seem like much... But we were taken in right away, suited up, assigned an instructor and away we went!

G0041251.JPG

Somehow I was chosen to go first 0_0 Honestly I was not that nervous, flying in this plane made me think of flying in my Dad's plane, only I wasn't strapped in and the door was open at about 12,000 feet!

G0041250.JPG
G0071258.JPG

The 45-second free fall felt so much longer. The views were breath taking.. and I mean literally. I could not catch my breath pretty much the whole time in free fall so that was terrifying a bit.. I had to keep reminding myself to breath, and smile since I knew he was taking pictures of me!

G0071282.JPG

When he let out the parachute it was smooth sailing and we were able to take in more of the spectacular views.

G0081291.JPG

I even got to steer and made us go around in circles like a tornado! That was really fun :)

G0081298.JPG

I was a little afraid that the slide landing would hurt but it was actually really smooth and fun! When it was all over all I wanted to do was go again. I can see how this sort of thing becomes addicting. It is really disappointing because it is hard to remember even 10 minutes after what it all felt like, because my body was just like SENSORY OVERLOAD! But it was still amazing, and yes I would definitely do it again, only higher!! :)

Later that day we walked around Mirror Lake, grabbed dinner at a very country (American-looking) bar, and went on an adventure to find glowworms!

We didn't want to pay for a holiday park so we found a random field to park our campervans till 5am when we got up to watch the sunrise over the glacier.

DSC02259.JPG

Cold and early, but so worth it :)

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page