top of page

My Legs Are Tired

After many days of exploring, my legs and feet are so tired! Everything here is on a hill... and I used to think walking to class at Geneseo was bad, but this is so much worse.

Earlier this week we hiked up Mount Eden to watch the sunset:

DSC01694.JPG

It's a pretty steep hill but the view is spectacular! And it is only 30 minutes from my dorm to the top. My goal is to go there for the sunrise and to see the lights of the city at night sometime soon.

A couple days later we went to Rangitoto Island. We had a bit of a late start and ended up running most of the way to catch the ferry (running in hiking boots was not fun at all).

DSC01742.JPG

Rangitoto is a 600 year old volcanic island and is 850 feet high. The island was pretty big and it took us a little over an hour to reach the top. Of course the views were also amazing and its a shame my camera couldn't capture just how beautiful it was!

DSC01719.JPG

We got to crawl inside lava caves on Rangitoto, which were so cool! At first they didn't look like much because the openings were so small. I was almost crawling inside the first cave and I felt a little claustrophobic, but then the cave opened right up and was fairly big inside:

DSC01759.JPG

DSC01753.jpg

It was a very long day with lots of walking but so worth it! At the bottom there was a small beach and the tide was so low that you could've walked for maybe a mile!

DSC01792.JPG
DSC01797.jpg

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page