top of page

I'm Going on an Adventure!

I'm going on an adventure!

This will be the biggest adventure I have ever encountered, although I don't think it will compare to Bilbo Baggins' experience (I don't think I am really up for the challenge of fighting dragons anyway!)

Today I will leave Canton, NY at 9am and will not be done traveling till about 3pm on Friday, New York time (for me that will be 7am Saturday in Auckland!). That is a total of 30 hours of travel! I have no idea how my body is going to respond to this extreme time difference, but if its anything like my trip to England, I will be passed out well before bedtime. Hopefully I'll be able to drink a lot of water and sleep on the plane to help with the jetlag. I can only imagine how many times I'll have to disturb everyone in my row to go to the bathroom... Sorry in advance!

There is only one other person I know going on this adventure with me, and we still have not met in person! So I am very excited to be meeting up with her tomorrow and flying over together :)

"All my bags are packed, I'm ready to go.." -- I started thinking about this song as I was finishing packing yesterday and I started to get a little sad... and then I started thinking of 4H Camp and got super sentimental (you'll understand why if you have ever had the pleasure of going there! Miss you all terribly!). My mom came upstairs as I was humming this; she wasn't too happy to hear it haha.

At first my bag was 5lbs overweight but after a little adjusting I was able to get it to only 48lbs! And those extra 7lbs? Yeah, they all went into my rolling carry-on. I don't know how much the carry-on weighs but let me tell you, it'll be interesting to see if I can lift it into the overhead bin!

I'd say for packing for a semester I did pretty well, I hope.

That’s all for now! I'll try to give my first Auckland updates as soon as I get settled and hooked up to the campus Wi-Fi! Wish me luck :)

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page